Military fortifications built to protect territories or to show power can be found in almost every place on the globe. The Guam Island is not an exception, there is its ancient sight - Fort Santa Agueda, built in 1800 to defend the land from the British army. It was named in honor of the governor Manuel Muro’s wife Maria Ageda del Camino. Not so long ago, owing to the efforts of the Historical Fund it was completely restored and now shows all its beauty to the guests and residents of the island.
The unique feature of the construction is that it is the only preserved Spanish fort on the west coast of Guam. Once, there was a sufficient number of them, but over time some became destroyed, others - completely unnecessary, people took them to pieces without thinking about the preservation of the monuments. And now, the only Fort Santa Agueda reminds about the supremacy of the Spaniards. It had embrasures for ten small but powerful cannons facing the bay. At that time, such a number of guns was considered normal, because they protected on a maximum level.
But the less interest Spain showed to the islands, the less funding the military received. The number of guns in Fort Santa Agueda was declining. In 1871, it became useless and was finally closed in 1887.
For 50 years, the strong fort did not function. In 1933, the American forces showed interest in the construction and started using it as a signal station for ships. The next interesting historical phase of Fort Santa Agueda became the Second World War. That time, the Japanese soldiers based there a firing point.
Now Fort Santa Agueda is a monument and recreational area. Only old tools and inscriptions on the walls in different languages remind of its military past, telling guests about its greatness.